PROJECT 10- A DESIGN PROJECT – STAGE 2

Focussing on my theme book

My theme book is now beginning to fill up with development work on top of the original source materials and ideas. I made a decision that I wanted to combine several ideas and sources and build towards an end product in the form of the recovered chair. I was particularly keen to develop my ideas around the work I had done on the poppy seed heads and the seed pods. I also liked the printed trellis shapes I had produced on paper. I thought these might work well on fabric and would create an interesting surface. I began to think about the kind of marks I might want to make and revisited the work I had done in part 2 on making marks with both stitch and in part 3 where I was making marks with printing. I have sketched some ideas for what components could be used in the chair and am now starting to think that as well as creating a panel for the chair seat and back I could think about including some text round the edge of the seat. I also have a number of ideas that could form small cushions which could extend the project a little further. Of course putting a small chair in the post for review by my tutor is not really practical but I didn’t want to let the idea go for reasons of practicality. I checked with my tutor that I could send the textile part of the project and plan to send photographs of the finished pieces on the chair if possible.
As well as having decided that I would like to do something with the poppy seed heads and the seed pods idea I didn’t want to lose the response I had to the lotus seed heads, especially the colours which I was very drawn to. I do not however, want to clutter the final project – it’s a very simple design. I think there is a danger that I try to put too many ideas in to the one piece. Making one or two additional cushions might be the way to try out some of these ideas.

Posted on 09/03/2014, in Assignments, Part 5. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

